The Eagan-Inver Grove Heights Watershed Management Organization (E-IGH WMO) was established on January 7, 2014 through a joint powers agreement executed by the Cities of Eagan and Inver Grove Heights. Funding for the Eagan - Inver Grove Heights WMO is provided by each of the Cities within the organization. The mission of the WMO is to oversee member city implementation programs and foster civic engagement within the watershed that promotes citizens participation and responsibility in protecting and improving our water resources.


In 1982, the Minnesota Legislature approved the Metropolitan Surface Water Management Act (Act), which is codified in Minn. Stats. §§103B.201 through 103B.253. The Act requires preparation and implementation of watershed management plans within the seven-county metropolitan area and requires local government units to prepare and implement water management plans, capital improvement programs, and official controls as necessary to bring local water management into conformance with the watershed plans.


Under authority conferred by Minn. Stats. §§471.59 and 103B.211, the cities of Eagan, Inver Grove Heights, and Mendota Heights responded to the Act by entering into a joint powers agreement in 1985 to form the Gun Club Lake Watershed Management Organization (GCLWMO). The member cities dissolved the GCLWMO in 2014 to allow the Mendota Heights to consolidate its area into one WMO. Eagan and Inver Grove Heights subsequently formed the existing WMO by joint powers agreement.


The purpose of the WMO is to regulate the natural water storage and retention of the Eagan-Inver Grove Heights Watershed, according to the Act. Its mission is to enhance member cities' abilities to protect, preserve, and improve surface water and groundwater quality and management. The WMO primarily focuses on preparing, adopting, and implementing a watershed management plan and reviewing and approving member city’s local water management plans. Both cities fund the WMO according to their assessed values of properties and their proportional areas within the watershed.


The Eagan-Inver Grove Heights WMO is a special purpose unit of government, not an advisory commission to the City Council. The WMO is administered by a five member board, whose members are appointed by the participating cities of Eagan and Inver Grove Heights. The board is made up of three members from Eagan and two from Inver Grove Heights. The Eagan City Council appoints managers to serve staggered three-year terms. Each year, the WMO Board elects a chair, vice-chair, secretary, and treasurer from its managers.

Meeting Schedule

Meetings are held on the third Tuesday in even months at 5:30 p.m. at the Central Maintenance Facility, 3501 Coachman Point.