Council Member Gary Hansen

Council Member Hansen was first elected to the Eagan City Council in 2008. He began his fourth term in January, 2019.

Mr. Hansen has a BS degree in Economics and Political Science from South Dakota State University and a JD degree from Mitchell Hamline School of Law. He and his wife Kathy have two daughters, Andrea Murphy and Kelly Darwitz; sons-in-law Daniel Murphy and Ryan Darwitz; a son, Tim; and four granddaughters.

Mr. Hansen is a retired risk management professional and a commercial arbitrator. He previously served on and chaired the Eagan and Dakota County Planning Commissions. He is a past member of the Eagan Athletic Association Board of Directors and is active in the Minnesota State Bar Association. In addition, he is a Mitchell Hamline School of Law Alumni Board member and a charter member of the Eagan Kick-Start Rotary Club.

Council Member Hansen is liaison to the Advisory Planning Commission and serves on the Council’s Communications Committee. He represents Eagan on the Minnesota Valley Transit Authority Board and the Suburban Transit Association Board. He is a past president of the Association of Metropolitan Municipalities (Metro Cities). In addition, he is a Metro Cities representative on the regional Transportation Advisory Board, which coordinates transportation and transit initiatives with the Metropolitan Council.

Contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


Return to City Council & Commissions