The mission of the Eagan Fire Department is dedicated to protecting and serving the community with reliable response by highly trained professionals.

Eagan Fire Chief, Hugo Searle

In 2017, a professional staffing study was conducted for the City of Eagan that suggested the department transition toward a career-staffed department, away from the traditional all-volunteer department started in 1963. For nearly 60 years, our community relied on our volunteer and part-time firefighters to help keep our community safe. December 31, 2021, marks the end of that era as we fully transitioned to a full-time department.

Today, the Eagan Fire Department consists of 40 full-time firefighters operating out of three fire stations. The career staff is divided into 3 different shifts to provide 24-hour coverage. Eagan Firefighters are licensed by the state of MN, certified Emergency Medical Technicians (EMTs), and certified Fire Inspectors.  

In addition to the on-duty operational staff, the Fire Department has four administrative chiefs and one administrative assistant who all operate out of the Fire Safety Center/Station 2.
The Eagan Fire Department responds to the approximately 6,000 calls annually with the private ambulance service thus freeing police officers for police-related calls.

Eagan Hires Hugo Searle as its new Fire Chief



Return to Fire Department